Eclectic Eats

Eating In Around the World

Cold-fighting Chicken Noodle Soup January 24, 2008

Filed under: soup — mrmrsbsh @ 3:46 am

Yes – again, I cooked with meat. I know, I know… I don’t normally like to. BUT, last week Brian & I were both suffering with bad colds (he’s still slowly getting over his), I decided I needed us to nip it in the bud as quickly as possible. And to be honest, there really is nothing better than garlic loaded chicken noodle soup to fight a cold (the drug manufacturers I’m sure are not pleased with me, but it is the truth!).

To find a good soup – and not just any old soup, I turned to my trusted cooking friends on the Nest.com (What’s For Dinner board) and of course, they did me good! Thanks to Krashed24  & MrsWindyCity (Elly’s) soup is awesome!

Chicken Noodle Soup

 010.jpg

2 Tbsp. butter
1 large onion, diced
1.5 cups carrots, sliced
1.5 cups celery, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced (I actually used 7 large ones!!!)
12 cups homemade or good quality chicken broth or stock
1 bay leaf
1/2 (heaping) tsp. ground marjoram
1 tsp. thyme
1 Tbsp. dried parsley
4 cups cooked chicken, chopped or shredded (I baked it)
5 oz. (about 1.5 cups) uncooked egg noodles
fresh ground pepper, to taste

In a large stockpot or dutch oven, melt butter over medium heat. Add onions and cook for about 3 minutes before adding the celery and carrots. Continue cooking a few more minutes before adding the garlic. Stir until fragrant.

Add the chicken, broth, bay leaf, marjoram, thyme, parsley and ground pepper to taste. Bring to a boil and then reduce. Simmer lightly for 30 minutes.

Add the noodles* and simmer until cooked, about 8 minutes.

 

2 Responses to “Cold-fighting Chicken Noodle Soup”

  1. Elly Says:

    glad you liked the soup! 🙂

  2. erin Says:

    thanks for the recipe…if I might add while it is simmering I like to add a big chunk of ginger root-just let it make it a bit spicy and warming and then I remove it when it is time to serve but the ginger warms your whole system and is good on the belly for when you really don’t feel good.


Leave a Reply

